Joseph F. Turcotte, PhD

Home » Bob Dylan » Whoa, time flies…

Whoa, time flies…

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 611 other followers

bob-dylan-together-through-life-album-art

Wow, it’s been too long. Apparently I got caught up with work and, um, play and haven’t had a chance to write in awhile. A lot has happened in the past week, so here goes:

Monday: The Tragically Hip played their first of three shows at the Centre in the Square. Yeah, that’s right, the Hip came to KW. Weird, eh? But in the past year so have Nas, Leonard Cohen and Sam Roberts— not to mention the Trailer Park Boys and a whole host of lesser acts. I guess that’s one of the benefits of having Jim Balsillie in town, he gets things done! (Please note, I’m not implying that he had something to do with all of these acts coming personally but I’m sure that the region’s on the map more because of him and RIM co-CEO Mike Lazaridis).

But back to the Hip, they were good. Strong set list — they played “Wheat Kings” and that’s all I really wanted– and their new song, “Now the struggle has a name”, is tremendous. As Gord Downie mentioned at the show (in between his usual on-stage craziness) the song refers to the recent Native residential school apology from Steve Harper. Happening so close to the Pope’s meeting (and apology) with Canadian Aboriginal leaders the song had extra poignance.

Tuesday: Bob Dylan released his latest album, Together through Life. I’ll get to a full review after a few more listens but for now, it’s good. Not as good as Modern Times but certainly strong. In a shift away from his recent releases the album has a dirty, blusey feel to it. Mixed in with Dylan’s exceptionally gritty voice (which works to perfection on the album) Together through Life has an honest, grassroots kind of feel. But like I said, I’ll get back to that.

Now: I’m wondering what the effect of the Liberal Convention will be. Iggy is being annointed and it doesn’t seem like there will be many policy disclosures (nor should there be, for their sake). I’m sure that the Party will receive a boost/bump in the polls, which should have Steve (all I want for my 50th birthday is to hold onto my party) Harper worried. The Conservatives are already lagging and it looks like only the support of the Bloc and NDP, the parties that he and his cohorts villified during the winter’s Parliamentary ‘crisis’, will prevent a fall election. Oh well, the time will come.

Editor’s note: M. Brown is correct, the Nas show at CIS took place in 2007. And here I was thinking the days of him editting my work were over…

1 Comment

  1. Mike says:

    Nas was at least a year and a half ago (Sept. 28, 2007, I’m almost positive, though I have no idea why I remember that so vividly), but I take your point. I believe you forgot Ms. Feist on that list, and I was told Akon was playing the Aud in April?

    Also, did you hear that Sam Roberts was included on this year’s Lollapalooza lineup. Pretty big for them, I’d say.

Leave a Reply

